Standing Committees

Student Government has 6 Standing Committees: Academic Affairs, Student Affairs, External Affairs, Campus Diversity, Environmental Affairs, and Health, Wellness, and Safety.  Standing Committees are where to bulk of our work get accomplished, read below to learn more about each individual Committee and what they are up to!

Academic Affairs Committee

Chair: Senator Maddie Sarasio Meyer


Membership: Senator Joshna Karki & Senator Victor Wei

Mission: The Academic Affairs committee strives to gain an understanding of the primary faculty and student issues on campus, and work to cooperate between the two to achieve gains for both groups.

External Affairs Committee

Chair: Senator Emily Smith


Membership: Senator Jose Reyes, & Senator Ireti Romini

Mission: The External Affairs Committee strives to promote communication between the Student Association and the larger society of which it is a part. This committee actively works to: establish and maintain communication with members of the Kirksville community, the Missouri State Government, and the student governments from other Universities.

Student Affairs Committee

Chair: Senator Alexandra Crawford


Membership: Senator Kiren MacLeod, Senator Jacob Bischel, & Senator Jesse Wren

Mission: The Student Affairs committee strives to assure the fulfillment of the University’s mission in the non-academic aspects of the University community from the perspective of the Student Association.

Health, Wellness, and Safety Committee

Chair: Senator Tori Woods


Membership: Sexual Assault Prevention Designee Caroline Costello, & Senior Senator Adam Barker

Mission: The Health, Wellness, and Safety Committee strives to improve students’ lives by advocating for policies that prioritize student health and wellness, spreading awareness about university resources that are available to protect and care for students, and making student concerns known to administration.

Environmental Affairs Committee

Chair: Senator Emma Rollings


Membership: Senator Ethan Kershaw

Mission: The Environmental Affairs Committee strives to promote sustainable behavior and decrease the environmental impact of the University, its students, faculty, and staff. ​​

Campus Diversity Committee

Chair: Shania Montufar


Membership: Vice Chair Lizze Cremer & Senator Josh German

Mission: The Diversity Committee strives to actively foster inclusion by providing support to groups and individual members of our campus and to increase the integration of our diverse student body through revising and creating mission-enhancing policy.