## Student Government Resolution 102.012 A Resolution Creating the Student Government Grant Committee

## WHEREAS.

- The Student Government is the official governing body of the Student Association and exists to represent the present and long term best interest of the Student Association in the formulation of the University policy and in the fulfillment of the University mission; and
- The 2010-2011 Student Government Budget allotted \$5000 for Student Grants; and
- The purpose of these grants is to allow groups of students and organizations to host events on Truman's campus; and
- The Student Senate shall have the power to approve changes to the application and/or guidelines for grant usage; and
- The Student Government Grant Committee shall have the authority to award funding from those funds allotted to it without a second vote of the Student Senate; and
- The Student Government Grant Committee shall report to the Student Senate on all awards made at the next general meeting immediately following an award decision; and
- The Student Senate shall have the power to only reject a grant awarded by the Student Government Grant Committee; and
- The composition of the Student Government Grant Committee shall be a chair, a member of the Student Government Executive Committee, and a voting Senator.

## THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT,

• Creates the Student Government Grant Committee.

## THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT OF TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY DIRECTS THAT.

- The allotted amount shall be divided in half for funding in the Fall and Spring semesters; and
- The Executive Committee shall create a formal application process, guidelines for grant usage, and any restrictions on how allotted funds shall be awarded; and
- There shall be a Student Government Grant Committee whose responsibility it will be to enforce all student grant guidelines, recommend changes to the grant application and guidelines, receive applications, and award grant funding; and
- Additional copies of this resolution are disseminated to President Troy Paino, Dean of Student Affairs Lou Ann Gilchrist, VPAA/Provost Richard Coughlin, and the Truman Media Network.

Passed October 10, 2010 By a Vote of 17-0-0

Isaac Robinson III
President of the Student Association