## Student Government Resolution 112.012 A Resolution Establishing Missouri Higher Education Policy Priorities for Truman State University

**Sponsored by: Academic Affairs Committee** 

## WHEREAS.

- The Student Government is the official governing body of the Student Association and exists to represent the present and long-term best interest of the Student Association in the formulation of the University policy and in the fulfillment of the University mission; and
- The current funding model for public higher education is unsustainable and detrimental to the advancement of quality education; and
- A formula for funding based on academic performance more accurately represents university achievement of clearly defined goals and missions; and
- Financial restrictions on campus construction and renovation projects are creating issues and halting the advancement of facilities necessary to recruit, maintain, and properly educate students; and
- Student members without a vote on their university governing boards currently have an advisory role that does not provide adequate authority behind the input of their constituency.

## THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT,

- Supports renewing higher education as a funding priority
- Supports the ideas of a founding formula based on academic performance; and
- Supports policies aiding campus construction and renovations, including but not limited to state bonds; and
- Supports legislation granting student representatives on university governing boards a vote equal to that of all other voting members.

## THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT OF TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY DIRECTS THAT,

- These policies priorities be recommended to the Missouri Higher Education Consortium as the goals Truman State University students want to be pursued; and
- Additional copies of this resolution are disseminated to President Troy Paino, VPAA/ Provost Richard Coughlin, Dean of Student Affairs Lou Ann Gilchrist, Missouri Higher Education Consortium, and the Truman Media Network.

Passed November 6, 2011 By a Vote of 14-0-2

Ryan Nely
President of the Student Association