Student Government Resolution 112.007 A Resolution Establishing the Shining Stars Program

WHEREAS,

- The Student Government is the official governing body of the Student Association and exists to represent the present and long-term best interest of the Student Association in the formulation of the University policy and in the fulfillment of the University mission; and
- The Student Senate has periodically recognized groups and individuals for their contributions to the Truman community; and
- Recognition from the Student Senate has typically come in the form of resolutions; and
- The purpose of the Shining Stars Program is to provide recognition for these contributions; and
- The Student Senate shall have the authority to approve changes to the guidelines and application process for the Shining Stars Award; and
- In accordance with the guidelines for the program the Student Senate shall have the power to reject the public recognition of recipients during a meeting of the Student Senate by a majority vote; and
- Applications and nominations for the award shall be open to the general public; and
- The composition of voting members of the Shining Stars Program shall be the President of the Student Association, the Vice President of the Student Association, the Secretary of the Student Senate, a student at large, and a program chair. The Speaker of the Student Senate shall serve as an ex-officio non-voting member.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT,

- Establishes the Shining Stars Program for the 2011-2012 school year; and
- Approves the guidelines for the 2011-2012 Shining Stars Program.

THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT OF TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY DIRECTS THAT,

- Nominations and applications for the award made during the 2011 summer break be discussed and presented after the 2011-2012 school year begins with the fall semester of 2011; and
- It shall be the responsibility of the voting members of the Shining Stars Program to oversee applications and nominations, in accordance with the program guidelines.
- Additional copies of this resolution are disseminated to President Troy Paino, Dean of Student Affairs Lou Ann Gilchrist, VPAA/Provost Richard Coughlin, and the Truman Media Network.

Passed April 25, 2011 By a Vote of 6-2-0

Ryan Nely President of the Student Association