Student Government Resolution 092.001 In Recognition of the Presidency of Anna Elizabeth Esfeld

WHEREAS,

- The Student Government is the official governing body of the Student Association and exists to represent the present and long term best interest of the Student Association in the formulation of the University policy and in the fulfillment of the University mission; and
- Anna "Lizz" Esfeld has served the Student Association in the following offices:
 - President of the Student Association, and;
 - o Academic Affairs Chair for the 2007-2008 academic year; and
 - o Student Representative to the Commission on Undergraduate Curriculum; and
 - Senator at Large for the 2006-2007 and 2007-2008 academic years; and
 - Student Representative to the Undergraduate Council for the 2007-2008 academic year; and
 - Student Representative to the Faculty Senate for the 2007-2009 academic year; and
 - Student Representative on the Strategic Plan Steering Committee; and
- She has worked tirelessly since her freshman year on a system of Extended Course Descriptions, which eventually saw realization in the Professor Ratings System that was generated from student input; and
- She has worked with administrators to allow seniors the opportunity to take up to six credit/no-credit courses in order to encourage students to embrace the spirit of a liberal education; and
- She has aided in redefining the Writing as Critical Thinking requirement to be more student-oriented by advocating for a topic-based learning experience; and
- She was instrumental in pioneering educational opportunities for Truman students by working to open avenues for Student Initiated Courses, making Truman one of only a handful of Universities possessing such a program; and
- She has responded to the local impacts of the nation-wide budgetary crisis with poise, working under monumental time constraints to formulate a plan of action and response with the Appropriations Apocalypse Action Task Force in order to make sure that Truman State University did not suffer any decline in quality, and that all students still had the opportunity to attend; and
- She has assisted the External Affairs Committee with one of the most successful Storm the Capitol programs in the Student Government's history; and
- She has led by example, voiced Truman students opinions, and made critical intercollegiate network connections at the Missouri Higher Education Consortium, elevating Truman to a position of renown and leadership within that organization; and
- She has established a Student Technology Improvement Committee aimed at improving the quality of liberal arts education available to Truman students by researching and implementing cutting-edge learning tools and classroom designs; and

- She has also advocated a Textbook Committee to begin addressing and relieving the tremendous burden current textbook cots exert upon students; and
- She has adopted a tactful, professional, and friendly relationship with the Administration of Truman State University, allowing for an unparalleled level of cooperation and productivity in working to improve the University for students; and
- She is an active member of Beta Beta; and
- She participated in the 2008 STEP Program; and
- She has been accepted to a summer research program at the University California-Riverside; and
- She has been an enthusiastic member of the Bulldog Party since 2006; and
- She gave the Matriculation Speech to entering first year students in summer of 2007; and
- She has served as a teaching assistant for Dr. Goldman in the Department of Biology.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT:

• Recognizes and commends 2008-2009 Student Government President Anna Elizabeth Esfeld for her outstanding service and dedication to the Student Association of Truman State University.

THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT DIRECTS THAT,

• This resolution be delivered to President Krueger, Dean of Student Affairs Lou Ann Gilchrist, Vice President for Academic Affairs/Provost Troy Paino, the Truman Media Network, and Jerry and Jill Esfeld.

Passed April 12, 2009 By a Vote of 9 – 0 – 0

JoEllen Flanagan President of the Student Association