Student Government Resolution 091.014 Support for Governor Nixon's Higher Education Funding Proposal

WHEREAS.

- The Student Government of Truman State University is the official governing body of the Student Association and exists to represent the present and long term interests of the Student Association in the formulation of University policy and in the fulfillment of the University mission; and
- Budget cuts for Fiscal Year 2010 of ten percent or more would necessitate decreasing the number of faculty and staff positions; and
- Decreasing the number of faculty and staff positions would result in such a shift in fundamental procedures that Truman would be unable to fulfill its stated mission "to ignite the individual's curiosity about the natural and social universe and then aid him or her in developing the skills and personal resources to channel knowledge into productive, satisfying activity"; and
- Even without a decrease in allotted funds from the state, Truman State University will still face an estimated \$1 million shortfall in FY 2010; and
- Governor Nixon has promised to maintain level funding for all institutions of higher education provided no new tuition or fee increases are implemented; and
- The Fiscal Year 2010 Executive Budget as published on January 27, 2009 recommends \$45,914,363 of state revenue to fund Truman State University.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

- The Student Government of Truman State University is in support of the Governor's proposal to maintain level funding for all public institutions of higher education in Missouri as proposed on January 27, 2009; and
- The Student Government of Truman State University acknowledges that the University and its student body will ultimately benefit from this funding proposal.

THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT DIRECTS THAT:

• This resolution be appropriately disseminated to the offices of Governor Nixon and all relevant State Representatives and Senators, including but not limited to the members of the Missouri House of Representative's Higher Education Committee; to University President Darrell Krueger; and to all members of Faculty Senate.

Passed February 22, 2009 By A Vote of 9 – 0 – 0

Anna Elizabeth Esfeld President of the Student Association