Student Government senate.truman.edu



Lower Level Student Union 100 East Normal Avenue Kirksville, MO 63501-4221

Student Government Resolution 120.015

A Resolution To Require Resolutions Be Sent Out To The Truman State Student Body Sponsored By: Santino Bono, Incoming Senator; Kiren Macleod, External Affairs Committee Chair; Maddie Meyer, Senior Senator; Sam Myers, Purple Friday Committee Chair; Warren Barge, Student Affairs Committee Chair; Mike Owsley, Incoming Senator; Sutton Purinton, Academic Affairs Committee Chair; Owen Smith, Voting Senator; Morgan Sprehe, Voting Senator; Kennedy Cooper, Diversity Committee Chair

WHEREAS,

- The Student Government is the official governing body of the Student Association and exists to represent the present and long-term best interests of the Student Association in the formulation of University policy and in the fulfillment of the University's mission; and
- The Student Government frequently passes resolutions which influence school policy; and
- Such resolutions contain useful information and resources for the student body; and
- Resolutions are currently only emailed to members of the Student Government and to those who are included in the dissemination section of resolutions; and
- To establish a better connection with the student body, the Student Government needs to be more communicative with the work we accomplish; and
- Student Government already sends out monthly emails to the entire student body;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT:

• Send out all resolutions passed by the Student Government body to the Student Association in the monthly Student Government emails.

THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT DIRECTS THAT,

Additional copies of this resolution are disseminated to Dr. Sue Thomas, President; Dr. Janet Gooch, Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs; Janna Stoskopf, Vice President of Student Affairs; Scott Alberts, President of Faculty Senate; Tyana Lange, Vice President for Enrollment Management and Marketing; Ernie Hughes, Vice President for University Advancement; All Department Chairs and Secretaries; the Truman Media Network and the University Archives.

Passed by unanimous consent, March 15, 2021.

Kately Alexander

Katie Alexander, President of the Student Association