Student Government senate.truman.edu



Lower Level Student Union 100 East Normal Avenue Kirksville, MO 63501-4221

Student Government Resolution 120.012 A Resolution Calling on the State Government to Categorize University Staff as Critical Infrastructure Workers for Vaccine Distribution Purposes Sponsored by Kiren MacLeod, External Affairs Committee Chair; Morgan Sprehe, Women's Leadership Conference Committee Chair; Hildana Assefa, Dan Fox, Mike Owsley, and PJ Wuennenberg, External Affairs Committee Members

WHEREAS,

- The Student Government is the official governing body of the Student Association and exists to represent the present and long term best interest of the Student Association in the formulation of the University policy and in the fulfillment of the University's mission; and
- University professors and staff play an important role in the education of students across the state of Missouri and the United States; and
- Rates of COVID-19 cases on Truman State University's campus have surged to record levels in recent weeks¹; and
- University professors have an average age of 55, increasing the danger posed by contracting COVID-19²; and
- Deaths in communities that are home to colleges have risen faster than the rest of the nation³; and
- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Cybersecurity Infrastructure Security Administration federally reported⁴ that educators and staff at higher education institutions are critical infrastructure workers; and
- Critical infrastructure workers are those whose work is "imperative during the response to the COVID-19 emergency for both public health and security as well as community well-being"; and

¹ <u>https://www.truman.edu/coronavirus/reporting/</u>

² https://www.eui.eu/ProgrammesAndFellowships/AcademicCareersObservatory/AcademicCareersbyCountry/USA#:~:text=Very%20few%20people%20become%2 0Full.is%20granted%20is%20at%2039.

³ <u>https://www.nytimes.com/2020/12/12/us/covid-colleges-nursing-homes.html#:~:text=As%20coronavirus%20deaths%20soar%20across.of%20the%20population%2 Ohas%20found.</u>

⁴ https://www.cisa.gov/sites/default/files/publications/Version 4.0 CISA Guidance on Essential Critical Infrastructure Workers FINAL%20AUG%2018v3.pdf on page 10

- Missouri's current tiered vaccination plan for the COVID-19 vaccine includes critical infrastructure workers in Phase 1B, Tier 3⁵; and
- The CDC recommended that vaccines should specifically be distributed to staff and faculty at all educational institutions in states' Phase 1B⁶; and
- Missouri formerly considered professors and university staff to be critical infrastructure workers; and
- Without any accessible stated reason, professors and other university staff classification changed from "critical infrastructure workers" in Phase 1B, Tier 3 to a new "higher education" category in Phase 2⁷; and
- College professors and staff are not counted as critical infrastructure workers, delaying when they will be able to receive the vaccine;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT:

- Urges the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services Bureau of Immunization to classify university staff as Phase 1B Tier 3 critical infrastructure workers for the purposes of the distribution of the COVID-19 vaccine; and
- Urges other public universities in the state to pass similar resolutions calling on Missouri's Department of Health and Senior Services Bureau of Immunization classifying university staff for the purposes of the distribution of the COVID-19 vaccine.

THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT DIRECTS THAT,

Additional copies of this resolution are disseminated to Dr. Sue Thomas, President; Dr. Janet Gooch, Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs; Janna Stoskopf, Vice President of Student Affairs; Scott Alberts, President of Faculty Senate; Eric Davis, Payroll Manager; Dr. William Randall, Director of the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services; D. Adam Cumbliss, Director of the Missouri DHSS Division of Community and Public Health; Amos Bridges, Editor in Chief of the Springfield News-Leader; Mike Fannin, Editor in Chief of the Kansas City Star; Gilbert Bailon, Editor in Chief of the St. Louis Post Dispatch; Kaitlyn Schallhorn, Editor in Chief of The Missouri Times; Jeanne Abbott, Managing Editor of The Columbia Missourian; Cindy O'Laughlin, State Senator District 18; Danny Busick, State Representative District 3; Greg Sharpe, State Representative District 4; Missouri State Student Government Association, University of Missouri-Columbia Missouri Students Association, University of Missouri-Kansas City Student Government Association, Missouri University of Science and Technology Student Council; University of Missouri-St. Louis Student Government Association; Harris-Stowe State University Student Government Association; Lincoln University Student Government Association; Missouri Southern State University Student Senate; Missouri Western State University Student Government Association; Southeast Missouri State University

⁵ <u>https://covidvaccine.mo.gov/priority/Phase1b-1</u>

⁶ <u>https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/69/wr/mm695152e2.htm?s_cid=mm695152e2_w</u>

⁷ https://covidvaccine.mo.gov/priority/Phase2/

Student Government Association; University of Central Missouri Student Government Association; Washington University in St. Louis Student Union; St. Louis University Student Government Association; All Department Chairs and Secretaries; the Truman Media Network and the University Archives.

Passed 11-1-0, February 7, 2021.

Hately alexander

Katie Alexander, President of the Student Association