Truman State University Student Union 100 East Normal Avenue Kirksville, MO 63501-4221



http://senate.truman.edu (660) 785-4193 (660) 785-7211 (fax)

Student Government Resolution 116.042

A Resolution Supporting the Installation of a Student Accessible Printer in Magruder Hall Sponsored by Keaton Leppanen, Student Affairs Chair; Lucasana Barker, Jake Harris, and Adam Childers-Arnold, Voting Senators

WHEREAS,

- The Student Government is the official governing body of the Student Association and exists to represent the present and long-term best interests of the Student Association in the formulation of University policy and in the fulfillment of the University mission; and
- Access to a printer is vital to the success of college students; and
- Magruder Hall previously had a student accessible printer, which broke and was never replaced; and
- The students comprising the Biology, Physics, Agricultural Science, and Chemistry departments, which are housed in Magruder Hall, represent a significant portion of Truman's population; and
- The nearest student accessible printer to Magruder Hall is located in Pickler Memorial Library; and
- Concerned students have authored a petition in spring 2017, which received over 450 student signatures, in support of the installation of a student accessible printer in Magruder Hall; and
- Installation of a student accessible printer in Magruder Hall would greatly assist Truman State University Students in their academic and extracurricular pursuits.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,

• That the Student Government voices its support for the installation of a student accessible printer in Magruder Hall before the start of the 2017-2018 school year.

THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT DIRECTS THAT,

Additional copies of this resolution are disseminated to President, Susan Thomas; Interim Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, Richard Coughlin; Vice President for Student Affairs, Lou Ann Gilchrist; Dean of Health Science and Education and Science and Mathematics, Janet Gooch; Chief Information Officer, Donna Liss; Interim Associate Dean, School of Science and Mathematics and Chair and Associate Professor of Biology, Timothy Walston; Professor and Chair of Chemistry, Brian Lamp; Chair and Professor of Agricultural Science, Michael Seipel; Chair and Professor of Physics, Samuel Ling; Information Technology

Services Technical Director, Jim McNabb; University Archives; and the Truman Media Network.

Approved by: Unanimous Consent 4/2/17

President of the Student Association, JJ Dorrell