Truman State University Student Union 100 East Normal Avenue Kirksville, MO 63501-4221



http://senate.truman.edu (660) 785-4193 (660) 785-7211 (fax)

Student Government Resolution 116.045

A Resolution Honoring the Educator and Research Mentor of the Year Sponsored by Remy McClain, Academic Affairs Chair; Voting Senator Deanna Schmidt, and Secretary Sarah Holtmeyer

WHEREAS.

- The Student Government is the official governing body of the Student Association and exists to represent the present and long term best interest of the Student Association in the formulation of University policy and in the fulfillment of the University mission; and
- In 1988, a student-led initiative began the practice of honoring Truman faculty through selecting an Educator of the Year; and
- In addition to Educator of the Year, Truman students further seek to honor the efforts of Research Mentors in the lives of students; and
- In January of 2017, the Academic Affairs committee began collecting nominations from students for Educator of the Year and Research Mentor of the Year; and
- The Academic Affairs committee received over 50 nominations for these awards; and
- The Academic Affairs committee then selected 25 semi-finalists for Educator of the Year and 6 semi-finalists for Research Mentor of the Year; and
- The semi-finalists submitted essays that were reviewed by the committee; and
- From the essays received, the Academic Affairs committee selected 10 Educator of the Year finalists and 6 Research Mentor of the Year finalists; and
- In addition to a representative from the McNair program, the Pershing Society and the Office of Student Research, the Academic Affairs committee completed 10 classroom observations for Educator of the Year and 6 interviews for Research Mentor of the Year; and
- After a long deliberation process, the committee selected the Educator and the Research Mentor of the Year reached by a majority vote and decided the winning faculty members.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT,

- Thanks the efforts of all faculty and educators involved in the process for their time and commitment to their students; and
- Thanks Mac Smith, Nikki Batinick, and Clara Miller-Broomfield for representing the McNair program, the Pershing society and the Office of Student Research, respectively; and
- Confirms that the Educator and Research Mentor of the Year have been selected by the
 official committee, and were recognized at the Accolades of Academics banquet on the 11th
 of April, 2017; and
- Recognizes that the 2017 Educator of the Year is Dr. Anton Daughters and the 2017 Research Mentor of the Year is Dr. Michael Bird.

THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT DIRECTS THAT,

Additional copies of this resolution are disseminated to each current member of the Truman State University Board of Governors; President, Susan Thomas; Interim Executive Vice President and Provost of Academic Affairs, Richard Coughlin; Vice President of Student Affairs, Lou Ann Gilchrist; Dr. Anton Daughters; Dr. Michael Bird; Truman Media Network; University Archives.

Approved by: Unanimous Consent 4/23/17

President of the Student Association, JJ Dorrell