Student Government senate.truman.edu



Lower Level Student Union 100 East Normal Avenue Kirksville, MO 63501-4221

Student Government Resolution 116.030 In Recognition of Matthew Cooper Sponsored by President Molly Turner and Vice President JJ Dorrell

WHEREAS,

- The Student Government is the official governing body of the Student Association and exists to represent the present and long term best interest of the Student Association in the formulation of the University policy and in the fulfillment of the University mission; and
- Matt Cooper is a Senior Political Science major at Truman State University; and
- · Matt has served on Student Government for four years in various roles; and
- During his time with Student Government, Matt spent the 2012-2013 year as the chair of the Student Affairs committee; and
- From 2013-2014, Matt served as the President of the Student Association; and
- Matt served as the Speaker of Student Government for the 2014-2015 school year, which silenced his opinion although it was severely needed; and
- · From 2015-2016, Matt served as the Student Affairs Chair; and
- Matt studied abroad in London in the Spring of 2015; and
- Furthermore, Matt will be attending Law School at George Washington University this Fall; and
- While serving on the body, Matt Cooper added much insight and wisdom to legislative discussions and was a key advisor in the planning of Student Appreciation Week; and
- Matt's continued involvement in Student Government throughout his time at Truman demonstrates his level of commitment and passion for furthering the interests of the Student Body.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,

- That Student Government, on behalf of the Student Association, express its sincere
 gratitude to Matt Cooper for his service to the Truman State University community; and
- That Student Government wishes Matt Cooper the best of luck in the future.

THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT OF TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY DIRECTS THAT,

• Additional copies of this resolution be disseminated to Matt Cooper and his parents.

Passed April 24, 2016 By Unanimous Consent

Molly Ann Turner President of the Student Association