Student Government senate.truman.edu



Lower Level Student Union 100 East Normal Avenue Kirksville, MO 63501-4221

## Student Government Resolution 116.027

A Resolution Honoring the Educator and Research Mentor of the Year Sponsored by Kyra Cooper, Academic Affairs Chair; Brett Combs, Remy McClain, and Sarah Holtmeyer, Voting Senators

## WHEREAS.

- The Student Government is the official governing body of the Student Association and exists to represent the present and long-term best interest of the Student Association in the formulation of University policy and in the fulfillment of the University mission; and
- In 1988, a student-led initiative began the practice of honoring Truman faculty through selecting an Educator of the Year; and
- In addition to Educator of the Year, Truman students further seek to honor the efforts of Research Mentors in the lives of students; and
- In February of 2016, the Academic Affairs committee began collecting nominations from students for Educator of the Year and Research Mentor of the Year; and
- The Academic Affairs committee received over 90 nominations for these awards; and
- The Academic Affairs committee then selected 30 semi-finalists for Educator of the Year and 10 semi-finalists for Research Mentor of the Year; and
- · The semi-finalists submitted essays that were reviewed by the committee; and
- From the essays received, the Academic Affairs committee selected seven Educator of the Year finalists and six Research Mentor of the Year finalists; and
- In addition to a representative from the McNair program and the Pershing Society, the Academic Affairs committee completed 7 classroom observations for Educator of the Year and six interviews for Research Mentor of the Year; and
- After a long deliberation process, the committee to select an Educator and Research Mentor of the Year reached a majority vote and decided the winning faculty member; and
- Dr. Vayujeet Gokhale was selected as the Research Mentor of the Year; and
- Professor Alex Tetlak was selected as the Educator of the Year.

## THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,

- That the Student Government thanks the efforts of all faculty and educators involved in the process for their time and commitment to their students; and
- Thanks Robert Renteria and Rosalie Swingle for representing the McNair program and the Pershing society, respectively; and

- Confirms that the Educator and Research Mentor of the Year was selected by the official committee, and was recognized at the Accolades of Academics banquet on the 18<sup>th</sup> of April, 2016; and
- Congratulates Dr. Vayujeet Gokhale and Professor Alex Tetlak for their designation as Research Mentor of the Year and Educator of the Year, respectively; and
- Encourages the Truman State University administration to consider Dr. Gokhale and Professor Tetlak for the Governor's Teaching Award.

## THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT OF TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY DIRECTS THAT,

• Additional copies of this resolution are disseminated to each current member of the Truman State University Board of Governors; President, Troy Paino; Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs and Provost, Susan Thomas; Vice President of Student Affairs, Lou Ann Gilchrist; Executive Secretary for Academic Affairs, Kathleen Powell; Truman Media Network; University Archives; Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Social and Cultural Studies, Peggy Clark; Office of Student Research, Chad Montgomery; Dean of the School of Science & Mathematics, Jonathan Gering; Chair of Physics, Samuel Ling; Dean of the School of Arts & Letters, James O'Donnell; Chair of Classical and Modern Languages, Lucy Lee; Research Mentor of the Year for 2016, Dr. Vayujeet Gokhale; Educator of the Year for 2016, Professor Alex Tetlak.

Passed April 24, 2016 By Unanimous Consent

Molly Ann Turner

President of the Student Association