Student Government senate.truman.edu



Lower Level Student Union 100 East Normal Avenue Kirksville, MO 63501-4221

## Student Government Resolution 116.011 A Resolution to send the Student Representative to the Truman State University Board of Governors Slate to Governor Nixon Sponsored by Molly Turner, President of the Student Association and Chair of the All-Student Board of Governors Slate Selection Committee

## WHEREAS,

- The Student Government is the official governing body of the Student Association and exists to represent the present and long term best interest of the Student Association in the formulation of University policy and in the fulfillment of the University mission; and
- The Truman State University Board of Governors holds the responsibility of policy-making while providing guidance for the University as the governing board of Truman State University; and
- The Board is composed of ten members appointed by the Governor of Missouri, one of which is held by a Truman Student; and
- The Truman Student selected for the position will serve as a non-voting member for a term of two years, acting as an intermediary between the Board of Governors, the Student Association, and Student Government; and
- Membership to the Board will allow the Truman Student representative to serve on the Academic and Student Affairs Board Committee within the Truman State University Board of Governors, and the executive committee of Student Government as an ex-officio member; and
- In order to elect the Student Representative, as outlined in the Student Government Constitution, the President of the Student Association created an all-student committee comprised of the President of the Student Association, Molly Turner (Chair); the current Student Representative to the Board of Governors, Kelly Kochanski (Vice-Chair); Voting Member of the Student Senate, Cory Hogan; Residential Living Representative, Mackenzie Smith; Student Activities Board Representative, Lauren Darter (President); Campus Media Representative, Bethany Boyle (Editor-in-Chief of the *Index*); Student-at-Large, Eboni Miller; and
- Seeing a need for more diversity and a wider student representation within the All-Student Board of Governors Slate Selection Committee, at the discretion of the Chair, the committee was expanded to include Funds Allotment Council Representative, Taylor Shultz (President); Multicultural Affairs Center Representative, Brandall Bond; Women's Resource Center Representative, Danielle Fritz; and Student Athletic Advisory Committee Representative, Jeffrey "Alec" Morgan (President), along with those mentioned above; and
- The committee met on October 27th and 30th, and November 2nd and 4th to review the submitted six applications and conduct interviews with five of the applicants; and
- The committee selected Gillian Mwagni, Sarah Welsch, and Carter "Brooks" Templeton as the Student Representative to the Board of Governors Slate; and
- The Slate was presented to the Student Government for approval by the Student Senate on November 8th, 2015, which was granted.

## THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,

• Following approval from the Student Senate the selected three names be sent to the Governor of Missouri as outlined in the Truman State University Student Government Standing Rules.

THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT OF TRUMAN STATE UNIVERSITY DIRECTS THAT,

Additional copies of this resolution are distributed to the Governor of Missouri, Jay Nixon; University
President, Troy Paino; Provost/Vice President of Academic Affairs, Susan Thomas; Executive
Assistant to the President, Traci Hill; University Board of Governors Chair, Jim O'Donnell and ViceChair, Sarah Burkemper and Secretary, Mike LaBeth and Student Representative, Kelly Kochanski;
Vice President of Student Affairs, Lou Ann Gilchrist; Director of Public Relations, Heidi Templeton;
Department of Special Collections; and Truman Media Network.

Passed December 6, 2015

Melly ann Jurner

Molly Ann Turner President of the Student Association