Student Government Resolution xxx

A Resolution Stating Student Government's Opposition to an Ongoing Semesterly Exercise Requirement

Sponsored by Deanna Schmidt, Academic Affairs Committee Chair; Adam Barker, Katie Alexander, and Maura Shimmens, Academic Affairs Committee Members; Joe Slama, Health Wellness and Safety Committee Chair; Elisabeth Blotevogel, Rebekah Smith, and Caroline Costello, Health Wellness and Safety Committee Members

WHEREAS,

- The Student Government is the official governing body of the Student Association and exists to represent the present and long-term best interests of the Student Association in the formulation of the University policy and in the fulfillment of the University mission; and
- Student Government has been actively involved in recent discussions concerning the development of a new Liberal Studies Program by attending faculty workshops and discussions, as well as inviting multiple faculty speakers to Student Government general body meetings to discuss various curriculum proposals; and
- Faculty Senate Bill 5516-B, known as the Substitute Bill to Revise the LSP, passed by the Faculty Senate on November 16, 2017, requires that "Students will be required to take a physical activity course, participate in an approved co-curricular physical or wellness activity, or complete a self-guided health/wellness program each semester," and
- In response to these recent discussions of the Liberal Studies Program, Student Government hosted two student forums, held on October 10 and 11, 2017, giving students the opportunity to learn more and voice their opinions about the proposed changes to the curriculum; and
- In a survey distributed by Student Government following the forums, one question asked students for their opinions concerning "requiring each student to participate in a 'Wellness Activity' as a graduation requirement in place of the Personal Well-Being requirement," and
- This language included in the student survey distributed by Student Government did not specify the Wellness Activity as an ongoing semesterly requirement, and furthermore did not articulate the specific time constraint of an hour per week each semester;³ and
- A significant majority of students were in support of incorporating a required 'Wellness Activity' into the new curriculum (32 out of 46 surveyed);⁴ and
- The language in the survey questions did not reflect the requirements stipulated in the bill,⁵ therefore it is possible that many of these students who expressed support for a 'Wellness Activity' are not necessarily in support of the proposal for an ongoing semesterly requirement, as demonstrated through their commentary in the free response portion of the survey.

¹ http://wp-internal.truman.edu/provost/files/2015/01/Bill-draft-October-2017-25-with-links-cvrltr2.docx

 $^{^2\} http://wp-internal.truman.edu/provost/files/2015/01/LSP-Survey-Student-Government-Summary.pdf$

³ http://wp-internal.truman.edu/provost/files/2015/01/Bill-draft-October-2017-25-with-links-cvrltr2.docx

 $^{^{4}\} http://wp-internal.truman.edu/provost/files/2015/01/LSP-Survey-Student-Government-Summary.pdf$

⁵ Ibid.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT,

- Maintains that the data received from Student Government's LSP survey does not accurately
 reflect student opinions concerning a semesterly 'Wellness Activity' requirement due to the
 confusion regarding the nature of an ongoing semesterly requirement versus a replacement
 equivalent to current requirements; and
- Opposes the inclusion of an ongoing semesterly 'Wellness Activity' requirement in the University's revision to the curriculum.

THE STUDENT GOVERNMENT DIRECTS THAT,

Additional copies of this resolution be disseminated to President Sue Thomas; Truman State University Board of Governors, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, Janet Gooch; Executive Secretary to the Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, DeeDee Moore; Vice President of Student Affairs, Lou Ann Gilchrist; Faculty Senate Executive Committee; each current member of the Truman State University Faculty Senate, with specific attention to Dr. Debra Cartwright, Dr. Jay Bulen, Dr. Sal Costa, Dr. Roberta Donahue, Dr. Stephen Hudman, Dr. Terry Olson, Dr. Kathy Otero, Dr. Mary Shapiro, and Dr. Candy Young; Truman Media Network; and the University Archives.